× Exit

Thank you to all who celebrated family and community with us! At our 40th annual Mpower the Night, Metropolitan Family Services celebrated the past, present, and future of our families’ achievements.

You can still contribute! Together we can Mpower more families to learn, earn, heal, and thrive: metrofamily.org/give

This year, we are pleased to honor PNC for its legacy of support for Metropolitan’s programs in Early Learning and beyond. The award – accepted by Scott Swanson, President of PNC Illinois – recognizes an outstanding partner in community empowerment.

View our Legacy Award presentation below:

Two incredible individuals – Illinois State Representative Jaime Andrade and EALgreen CEO Claudia Freed – shared how previous experiences with Metropolitan helped shape their successes today.


Watch Claudia Freed’s story Watch Rep. Andrade’s story

Looking to the future of urban agriculture and community development, we heard from the leaders of several West Englewood organizations in a panel discussion on WeGrow, a new collaborative addressing food equity in many innovative ways.

View our WeGrow panel below:

Thank you to ABC7 Chicago’s Alan Krashesky for moderating, and to our panelists for their insight: Michelle Rashad of Imagine Englewood If, L. Anton Seals, Jr. of Grow Greater Englewood, Janelle St. John of Growing Home, Cecile De Mello of Teamwork Englewood, and our CEO, Ric Estrada.

Learn more about a foundational element of WeGrow: iGrow Chicago, an organization working to grow Englewood from surviving to thriving through community connection, skill building, and opportunity.

Each element of our program celebrated the progress and impact of collaboration and community connection. It’s our community of friends and supporters who make it possible; thank you to all who joined us for Mpower the Night to empower children and families!

Our text-to-give donation platform is now closed. Please click the button above to donate through Metropolitan’s website.


  • Ashley Duchossois Joyce
    Board Chair
  • David Tropp
    Board Vice Chair
  • Erik Barefield
  • Erica Borggren
  • Erica Canzona
  • Piyush Chaudhari
  • Merle Goldblatt Cohen
  • Jennifer Comparoni
  • Marcus Cooper
  • Tanya Davis
  • Craig Esko
  • Graham Gerst
  • Amanda Graveline
  • Stephen M. Griesemer
  • Christy Harris
  • Roger Hochschild
  • Tony Hunter
  • John L. MacCarthy
  • Marilyn Marchetti
  • Aleck Matambo
  • John V.N. McClure
  • Kate Melman
  • Martha Melman
  • Emily Ory
  • Chip Owen
  • Brian Paladie
  • Diana Palomar
  • Stephen Patton
  • Virginia L. Pillman
  • Richard Price
  • Dan Rahill
  • Michelle Ramirez
  • Barbara Rapp
  • Bryan Rozum
  • Sophia Ruffolo
  • Kecia Steelman
  • John Storino
  • Michael Vardas
  • Jared Vegosen
  • Matt Zimmer