× Exit

Mpowered Families Vote: Illinois 2020 General Election

Election day is November 3, 2020!

Illinois’ General Assembly made several changes this year in the ways we can vote so that you can do so safely during the coronavirus pandemic. Our Government Affairs team is sharing resources on how to boost your power by choosing your elected leaders and voting in this year’s election.

How can I register to vote or make sure I am registered to vote?

The most important thing you can do right now is make sure you are registered to vote.

Register to vote online here! 

You can also contact the State Board of Elections at (312) 814-6440.  Please note, you can register to vote and apply to vote by mail at the same time.

How do I make sure I can vote by mail?

Apply to vote by mail here

If you voted in the 2018 general election, the 2019 consolidated election or the 2020 general primary election, your local election offices must mail or email a vote by mail application to you.  This is not a ballot, but it is an application to allow you to vote by mail instead of by voting in person. If you submit an application you must receive a ballot no later than October 6 from your local election office.

What changes can I expect for the 2020 Election?

Election day, November 3, 2020, is now a holiday for all government offices (except election authorities). Schools for kids in kindergarten through high school and some post-secondary schools will also observe the holiday.

Early voting hours at permanent polling places must be expanded to 8:30 am to 7 pm weekdays and 9 am to 5 pm weekends and holidays. Polling places will also be allowed to establish extra voting hours for people at higher risk for coronavirus.

Also, polling places can allow curb-side voting, where voters fill out a ballot outside the polling place.

Local election offices must also establish a central voting site for anyone who lives in a jurisdiction, regardless of their precinct.

Local election authorities will now need to appoint a bipartisan panel of three election judges to verify voters’ signatures (previously only one judge was used).